top of page
Search

Rob Jones out 3-5 months for knee injury


Rumors were rampant Friday night after GCC 10 that Rob Jones (7-2 MMA 5-2 GCC) had suffered a knee injury during his title fight with Vishis Vourture (3-1 MMA 3-1 GCC).


Rob Jones today had a meeting with an orthopedic surgeon, who verified that Rob Jones did indeed suffer a tear to his right LCL and will be out of action for the next 3 to 5 months.


A tournament has been announced to crown an interim lightweight champion, who will face off with Rob Jones, once he returns from injury.


I was able to speak with Rob Jones via telephone, and here's what he had to say.


"This sucks. I've never been hurt this bad before and I've been kickboxing and competing in MMA for 7 or so years. This will give an opportunity to some young fighter who hopes to be a champion in the lightweight division, but that worthless jabroni better not get used to it, because when I get back I'm reclaiming my belt."


When I asked what he meant by 'reclaiming his belt' he had this to say.


"I'm not Misty DeMeans. I won't hold up a division for any reason. I offered to vacate the title, but Fazan Khan declined. He told me about this tournament. In my eyes the guy who wins will be the champion, when we fight I'll be the challenger, and I'll f(expletive)k him up."


I wish Rob Jones a speedy recovery and can't wait to see him inside the GCC octagon again.


Follow Jocelyn Edwards on twitter @JocEdwards95

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page