top of page
Search

Jocelyn's Picks - GCC 15 Edition



Hello everybody! Welcome to Jocelyn's Picks! What a great night of fights Fazan Khan and his matchmakers have planned for GCC 15 - DeMeans vs Sanchez. I've studied the fighters, and looked at past fights. Here are my predictions.


Sunni Khan (0-0) vs. Desdemona Themis (0-0)

This is a highly anticipated rematch from Supreme MMA 3. In their first encounter Sunni Khan came out on top. Ever since then Desdemona has made it her mission to avenge that loss.


If she can avoid going to the ground with Sunni Khan I feel that her world-class striking abilities will shine, and she will tie their series,


This will set up a possible trilogy, and create a big splash in the bantamweight division.


My Pick: Desdemona Themis


Earlier this week I was able to catch up with both ladies, and here's what they had to say:


"I understand the culture at GCC is to drag an opponent verbally through the mud. The 'big league' idea of hyping a fight.


Sunni and I didn't do it at Supreme. So far, family members aside, we haven't done it here.


It's called respect. We gave it our all the first time. She's the best at what she does. I feel I am the best at what I do. Like the first fight, it's going to come down to who makes that first minute mistake.


It was me last time. I've grown and learned. This one will be a greater challenge. GCC is in for a show." -Desdemona Themis


---------------


"I have a lot of respect for Desdemona Themis. I feel that she has presented the biggest challenge to me in my professional career so far. Still, I can't help but feel that I am at square one with my career all over again.


Even though I have rejoined my teammates at the House of Khan, I'm still shoved into a box. I am seen as another. An outsider.


This fight is being billed as a supreme showcase and deep down I resent that. It's as if my accomplishments are not my own and I am being overlooked all over again.


I proved my family wrong once before and now I'll have to do it all over again. So be it grandfather... consider it done.'' -Sunni Khan


These are two of the greatest bantamweights in Supreme MMA's short history. This will be one epic fight between two athletes with mutual respect for one another. It's a great way to open up the main card.


Aleksandr Baranov (3-1) vs. Tommy Ward (5-2)

Ever since this fight was announced Aleksandr Baranov has been taunting the T.W Combat team, and feels 'Thunder' will be no match for hjm.


Ever since his loss to Alejandro Rivera Tommy has been climbing back up the ranks, and Jay Williams says Tommy will not let anybody step in his way.


Ward does have great boxing, but according to social media posts he has been training a lot on his grappling so I feel this will be a striker versus grappler contest.


To implement his grappling Tommy will have to take the fight to the ground, and with Baranov's aggressive style this may be difficult.


However, he has shown an iron chin, and great heart in the past. I feel Tommy will ultimately ground the Tundra MMA representative, and earn a submission.


My Pick: Tommy Ward


I spoke with Aleksandr Baranov regarding GCC 15, a potential fight with former champion Alejandro Rivera, and his general fighting future. Surprisingly, here's what he had to say…


“First off, let us get one thing straight: I could not care less about superstardom. In my heart, I feel that I am going to knock Tommy Ward the f(expletive)k out. As for Alejandro Rivera, I could not care less about him either. If the fight happens, it happens. I have not been told it will yet so I am not even thinking about it. First step before I think about another fight is taking out Tommy Ward.” - Aleksandr Baranov


---------------


I also spoke with Tommy Ward, asked him about his upcoming fight, and got an uncharacteristic response…


"The guy thinks that I'm an easy outing. We have two mutual opponents, and my wins over them we're more decisive than his. At GCC 15 he'll be in for rude awakening. I'm not just looking to put a submission on him for a tap. I'm aiming to break something." -Tommy Ward


There seems to be a lot of personal animosity coming out of Tommy Wards corner. Will his three fight winning streak extend to four or will Baranov indeed knock out the T.W Combat rep?


Gaia Galanos (5-2) vs. Rupika Khan (3-2)

These girls were at each other's throats long before this fight was officially announced. Rupika Khan will tell anybody who will listen that Gaia Galanos is a traitor, and while Gaia did move to Tundra MMA, she doesn't appreciate the stereotype.


To most the outcome is inevitable Gaia Galanos will cruise to a decision. I am not so sure.


They're striking is virtually equal, but I feel that if Khan can utilize a clinch heavy attack, she has a high chance of winning this fight. Also, Khan has shown against high level wrestlers that her submissions are nothing to take lightly, and we all know Galanos will be looking to get the fight onto the ground.


So if history tells us anything it's that Khan won't be hesitant with those submissions, and can submit the Spartan.


My Pick: Rupika Khan


I was able to catch up with both Gaia Galanos and Rupika Khan through skype, and what they had to say was... interesting…


“Rupika only appreciates someone if they are doing something for her. That’s why the moment I left House of Khan, she had diarrhea of the mouth. Hell, she hasn’t been able to keep my name out of her mouth since.


Rupika likes to put on a big show, and she can even back it up in the cage against decent competition, but not world class competition.” - Gaia Galanos


---------------


When Rupika asked if I spoke with Gaia I let her know what the former champion said, and here was her response.


"I know that's the media spin on it, but here's the truth Gaia Galanos is the one who made this all personal.


She couldn't stand the fact that not only was she not the best fighter in the world, she wasn't even the best fighter in The House of Khan; made evident by the fact she lost to Alexia Amauri.


Gaia is out here chasing ghosts and her battery is running low, I almost hate that I have to be the one to choke her lights out.'' -Rupika Khan


Whether Rupika Khan or Gaia Galanos started this rivalry is a moot point. This will be a true fight against two women who absolutely dislike each other. I can't wait.


(C) Rob Jones (5-2) vs. Sanit Klahan (1-0)

This is a great fight between two world-class kickboxers. Sanit Klahan was introduced to us during the first season of GUF where he showed off that patented Lone Wolf MMA kickboxing.


This is going to be Rob Jones first fight since a knee surgery. Rob is currently on a four fight winning streak, having successfully defended his championship once, and is looking to be the first champion in GCC history to defend their title more than once.


Even though Sanit has a great MMA future I think that Rob's experience will factor into this fight, and he will successfully defend the lightweight championship.


My Pick: Rob Jones


I emailed Rob Jones to ask him about this fight with Sanit Klahan. His response was short, but informative.


"The bozo's good. He deserves to be in contention, but he's never fought anybody like me. He's never stood in the cage across from somebody with the experience I have, who's still hungry. I've trained hard, and I'm going to kick his a(expletive)s, and then that piece of garbage who calls himself Gucci, he'll be next." -Rob Jones


I can see why people would want him to get beat up, but there is no denying he's one of the best.


---------------


I also got a chance to speak with Sanit Klahan, but it was a little weird…


''I speak many languages

alguns bonitos

algo feo

Bāng khn k̄hêācı

La plupart non

aber wenn ich Rob Jones besiege

The world will sing along with me.'' - Sanit Klahan


Yeah.


(C) Clive Hicks (4-1) vs. Tim McCarthy (4-0)

This fight is one of the most intriguing on this card for me. Clive Hicks is a world-class wrestler, and has shown off a devastating submission game, but Tim McCarthy is a world-class Muay Thai practitioner, and history shows Clive has had trouble with this style of fighting in the past.


Clive will rely heavily on his ground game, but Tim McCarthy has shown in the past his ability to successfully defend against the takedown, and transition into the clinch, when he absolutely destroyed the NCAA division 2 competitor Tyler Stevens.


With that being said if Clive is successful in scoring the takedown, he has shown to be a destroyer on top.


It's a hard pick, but I have to stand by my gut that Tim McCarthy can successfully defend against Clive's takedowns and win the fight with his Muay Thai clinch.


My Pick: Tim McCarthy


So I approached Clive Hicks and this guy is a creep! I asked him about his upcoming fight, and this is all he had to say…


"Hey, Joycelyn. How you doin' you fine lookin porcelain doll? Clive certainly hopes you've given a bit more thought on taking him up on his offer for a date?


This stupid COVID hoax has held up your plans to accept surely, but Clive is as healthy as ever and has a brand new health insurance plan to go along with his million dollar contract!


Do you enjoy this job of your's, doll? If not, Clive is more than willing to take care of you and you can leave this beat reporter shit to the fake news.


You had a question for Clive, huh? Timmy McCarthy somethin' about a whole lot of nothing. It doesn't even matter baby doll. He's a Canadian.


So what you saying, are you going to finally take yur boy up on his generous offer? Mama Jo' cooks the best apple pie.'' - Clive Hicks


... I wouldn't sleep with that guy if he gave me his next three fight purses.


---------------


When I left him. I ran into Tim McCarthy (literally) and he is way more polite than Clive Hicks.


"I think deep down Clive Hicks is a good man who unfortunately has fallen in with the wrong crowd be it the friendships he has made with certain people or even where he stands politically.


At the end of the day though this isn't a personality contest, it's a fight. It's no secret that Clive Hicks is a damn good fighter and certainly the best fighter I have personally shared the cage with.


After my win over Manuel Gamboa, it was important for me to stay centered and not lose sight of the bigger picture here. Truth be told, I wasn't even sure I was going to even get past that tough son of a gun and now Clive Hicks presents even a bigger threat to me that I am not convinced I'll be able to solve. And yet, this is exactly why I love the fight game.'' - Tim McCarthy


I don't know why he doesn't have a lot of confidence, or if it just seems that way to me. I think he's a great fighter, and my feelings about Clive aside, this will be a great fight.


(C) Misty DeMeans (4-0) vs. Juanita Sanchez (6-2)

This is a fight that has needed to happen for a long time. Juanita Sanchez is one of the most popular fighters in GCC right now, and a lot of people will tune in with hopes that she'll defeat Misty DeMeans, but that task is harder said than done.


Misty has some of the best footwork, boxing, and clinch work I've seen, plus she has no lack of confidence. It is no secret that Juanita is a world-class wrestler, and she will shoot for the takedown.


The real question here - will Misty's footwork be enough to keep Juanita from shooting in on her, and can she outstrike Juanita in the process?


If not, I feel that Juanita will get the fight to the ground, and dominate the champion, as she has her other opponents.


Even though this will be an epic fight. I have to go with Juanita capturing the Featherweight championship.


My Pick: Juanita Sanchez


I had lunch with Juanita on Sunday. She's a really laid-back person, but she's definitely ready for Saturday night.


"Oh yeah this opportunity is huge. Jocelyn last January I was so destroyed inside because of losing that title fight. It's taken me almost a year to get back, and I'm so close to seeing my dream come true. I have worked very hard, and I haven't nor will I let Misty intimidate me." -Juanita Sanchez


The words from one of the biggest stars in the promotions history.


---------------


I also caught up with Misty DeMeans in the hallway. I'm going to say she's a lot like Rob Jones. I can see why a lot of people want to see her get beat up, but she is also one of the best at what she does, and she knows it.


''I know Juwannabe Sanchez has been waiting for this fight for a long time now. She's a little T.W Combat pet project they put together, with the sole purpose of beating me once and for all.


I talk my shit, I always have and always will, but I am not stupid. Man she's a bigger threat than anyone I have ever fought before.


Unlike any of my other opponents, she isn't coming into the cage to win a fight, she's coming in looking to win on points. She's coming in looking for a nod from the judges.


The way I see it, I have 25 minutes to do something that'll only take a split second. I connect flush with her chin just once and it's all over. I know MMA fans are some dumb m(expletive)s but I gotta say I like my chances.'' -Misty DeMeans


Both women are confident, and they're coming to fight.


This is going to be one of the biggest fights in GCC history!


I want to thank everybody for reading this week's Jocelyn's Picks - GCC 14 edition!


Follow Jocelyn Edwards on twitter @JocEdwards95



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page