top of page
Search

Jocelyn's Picks - GCC 11 Edition


How exciting is this? We have finally reached GCC 11, and the rematch between Alejandro Rivera and Jay Ageuro, this time with the heavyweight title on the line, but before that there is a wonderful main card, so sit back, sip your wine, and enjoy Jocelyn's Picks.


Johnny Farmer (1-0) vs. George Toma (0-0)

This is an interesting fight to start off the main card. These men are both world-class strikers, but both men also have ways to exploit the other's weaknesses.


Johnny Farmer who is a kickboxing expert, needs to throw that aside and utilize his great wrestling ability, and his ground grappling. I say this because Toma has a weak ground game.


On the other hand George Toma can take advantage of Johnny Farmer in his great clinch, because the anti-hero is not well-versed in that particular method of fighting.


However, keep in mind Toma is a world-class boxer, and Johnny Farmer is a world-class kickboxer.


With all that being said, I feel that Johnny Farmer will win this fight.


My Pick: Johnny Farmer


Here's what Johnny Farmer had to say regarding this upcoming fight.


"A win at GCC 11 would prove that I am a top contender, and what does this fight mean to me? Just another easy paycheck coming with my name on it" -Johnny Farmer


Serena De Santo (1-0) vs. Dame Raven Williams (1-0)

A striker vs grappler fight in the bantamweight division. I have looked over both women's scouting reports, and watched their GCC debuts, and here are my thoughts.


Dame Raven Williams does not have the greatest of chins so If Serena De Santo wants to win the fight, she'll need to be aggressive, and feed Dame a steady flow of head kicks, and earn a stoppage.


Serena's wrestling is weak and Dame Raven Williams is a world-class wrestler, with high-level submission offense. She will need to shoot for that take down at a high rate, and minimize time spent on the feet.


Looking at their previous fights, and their training habits I have to go with Serena de Santo.


My Pick: Serena De Santo


I caught up with Serena this week, and here's what she had to say.


"To win against her would mean a second straight victory in the division and in my career. We're both 1 and 0 so someone is going home with their first loss and have to shake off the sting of defeat. The other remains undefeated and, hopefully, moves up the ranks for a title contention. I want that to be me. I train to be the best. I fully intend to be just that. I look forward to a great fight with Dame but in the end, I'm here to fight and I'm here to win." - Serena De Santo


Erik Johansen (2-2) vs. Tatenda Masawui (0-0)

This fight could go either way. Tatenda has great striking, so if he decides to use that particular part of his game, Erik Johansen may be in trouble.


However, let's look at Johansson's past. It's been rumored that for his last few fights he hasn't been training, and at Kosov Kourt Tatenda Masawui is training under greats.


On that alone I have to go with Tatenda Masawui.


My Pick: Tatenda Masawui


I was able to catch up with Tatenda, and here's what he had to say about making his debut against Erik Johansen.


"It means I made it big you know. Kosov Kourt pushed me into this but I feel ready. Eric is just a name I have to beat his history doesn't mean anything once we are in there" - Tatenda Masawui


Gaia Galanos (3-2) vs. Mia Stevens (2-1)

This fight is an important one for unique reasons. Gaia Galanos has recently suffered two losses in her last two fights, and is looking to prove that she still remains one of the best at 145.


Mia Stevens is in the exact opposite position. Having won her last two fights, she now finds herself in the biggest fight of her career, and is ready to prove that she belongs at the top of the featherweight division.


For her to do that she needs to keep the fight a standing affair with The Spartan.


Galanos will need to take the fight to the ground, and control Mia Stevens from there.


With Mia's lack of wrestling skills I do not believe she'll be able to stop the takedowns, and Gaia will earn her first victory since January.


My Pick: Gaia Galanos


I was able to catch up with the former featherweight champion and here's what she had to say.


"I don't feel it will break my legacy, but it will break my future moving on as a fighter. Winning in the octagon is an important thing; none of us can ignore that fact. I have lost 2 fights in a row. Losing a third consecutive fight is not an option." -Gaia Galanos


Nika Kosov (2-1) vs. Trixie Redd (2-2)

What an incredible co-main event! This is going to be a war to see who has the bigger heart.


Anybody who has watched her knows, Nika Kosov has some of the best submissions in the game, and a high caliber wrestling game to boot.


Trixie Redd is a world-class kickboxer who also has a high caliber wrestling game.


To win Nika needs this fight to hit the ground, and continuously look for submissions. However, because of the level of takedown defense Trixie Redd has, Nika's best bet is to pull guard, and work from her back, or look for a hail Mary flying submission within the clinch.


For Trixie to win this fight, she has to avoid the clinch, keep her takedown defense sharp, and keep the fight in striking range.


I feel that with everything going her way at least on paper Trixie Redd will win this fight.


My pick: Trixie Redd


This is what Nika Kosov had to say about her fight with Trixie and her previous fight with Krystal Knight.


"Well I totally didn't see the fight going the way it did, I'm not saying I underestimated Krystal but I was confident I was going to get the positions I needed to win but maybe I went in too confident. I love Krystal and I'm glad she got her night but it definitely fired me up to push for better and hopefully revenge!

Trixie is no easy task and despite me wanting to plan a path towards the top my only destination is Trixie and I'm developing plans to defeat her." - Nika Kosov


Alejandro Rivera (4-1) vs. Jay Aguero (3-1)

The rematch is finally happening, and it is going to be great. Alejandro and Jay are two world-class strikers, who throw everything with evil intentions.


To win the rematch Jay Aguero needs to be aggressive, and keep pressure on the champion throughout the entire fight. He'll need to use combinations instead of relying on a knockout punch, like he did in the first fight. He'll need to utilize this game plan because last time they fought, Alejandro Rivera easily countered him, and leg kicked his way to a unanimous decision.


If Alejandro Rivera wants to win the fight, he'll need to rely on those leg kicks, and his head kicks. If he follows a similar strategy he can win.


However I think Jay Ageuro has learned a lot since their last meeting, and has grown tenfold as a fighter. I think if he pressures Rivera, El Pantera will not be able to fire off those kicks, and Jay will become the new heavyweight champion.


My Pick: Jay Ageuro


Earlier this week I got to speak with Alejandro Rivera, and here is what he had to say.


"This is not going to be a fight. This is going to be a demonstration. I'm going to whip Jay Aguero, and call him 'mi pequeña perra' as I do so." - Alejandro Rivera


I also got a response from Jen Rivera regarding Alejandro Rivera's tactics.


"The time for Mr. Rivera’s goading will soon be over. Mr. Rivera has been ducking my client for so long; claiming he was not worthy of a rematch, let alone for the title. Well, since the announcement that my client would be challenging for said title, Mr. Rivera has changed tactics in order to provoke outrage in my client. Mr. Rivera can taunt all he likes. My client has been putting in the work behind the scenes. He has been testing his limits and growing stronger day by day. At GCC 11 the talking stops and the action begins."


So you have my predictions, so enjoy GCC 11!


Follow Jocelyn Edwards on twitter @JocEdwards95





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page