top of page
Search

Jocelyn's Picks - GCC 10 Edition


Hello everybody! Welcome to Jocelyn's Picks! What a great night of fights Fazan Khan and his matchmakers have planned for GCC 10. I've studied the fighters, and looked at past fights. Here are my predictions.


Awut Somaskul (4-4) vs. Andres Cruz (0-1-2):

A great choice for the feature prelim! The mixed martial artist against the Muay Thai kickboxer. For Awut to win he'll need to use his clinch control, takedowns, and top control to grind out a decision.


If Andres Cruz hopes to win he'll need to utilize aggressive striking against the former champion and when taken to the ground, search for submissions.


Although, the ex lightweight king hasn't won since October of 2019 I feel that he'll get the job done again at GCC 10.


My pick for this fight is Awut Somaskul.


During the course of the week I tried to reach out to both fighter camps, but wasn't able to speak with anybody regarding this fight.


Atara Themis (2-0) vs. Jade Young (2-2):

The main card opener pits a pankration expert against a brawler. Jade Young has won two straight after losing her first two GCC fights, while Atara Themis has also won her past two fights and remains undefeated.


Jade is an expert striker, with great Greco-Roman wrestling, but Atara is a great striker with world-class Greco-Roman wrestling. This fight will be amazing, and you definitely do not want to miss it. As for my prediction I do feel that Atara Themis will earn her third win in GCC.


My pick for this fight is Atara Themis.


I caught up with both her and Jade young this week and this is what they had to say about one another and their upcoming fight…


"It's not exactly the marquee matchup I've been wanting and I'm starting to feel a little snubbed. I put on a show for GCC, dominated my first two fights. Sure she's riding a two win streak like me, but its another no contest and Khan wasted another opportunity to pull in big bucks." -Atara Themis


"I'll make it simple. Atara can keep running her mouth about me all day long, but once that cage closes, it's time for her to either knock me to the floor or I shut her down. Either way, I'll be satisfied." -Jade Young


Sergiy Revenko (3-1) vs. Manu (4-2):

This is going to be another great fight. On one side there's the kickboxer Manu, who will be looking to get back into the win column, after having a four-fight win streak come to an end in April.


In the other corner we have Sergiy Revenko who is also coming into this fight looking to get back into the win column after losing the lightweight championship in April.


To win Revenko we'll have to rely on the Muay Thai clinch almost completely, and for the New Zealander to win Manu will have to stay out of the clinch, and out kickbox The Revenant.


In this particular fight I do believe Sergey will come out on top, because Manu is notorious for being lazy during training, and Sergiy is going to want this win more than anything.


My pick for this fight is Sergiy Revenko.


During the course of the week I tried to reach out to both fighter camps, but wasn't able to speak with anybody regarding this fight.


Aleksandr Baranov (2-1) vs. Charlie Leonardo (1-0):

Here you've got your kickboxer versus sambo matchup. These men are very similar in build, both have an 85 inch reach, and tall.


These men are both world-class strikers, and have great clinch grappling. However, it's my opinion that if Aleksandr Baranov decides to use his striking against Leonardo's kickboxing he will lose.


If Aleksandr wants to win, Baranov needs to use his wrestling and sambo skills to get Leonardo to the ground, and either grind out a decision or submit him, but it won't be an easy task.


If Charlie Leonardo comes out with a high volume of leg kicks, and stays patient with the counters, he'll earn his second GCC win.


My pick for this fight is Charlie Leonardo.


I had the opportunity to speak with both men earlier this week, and here's what they had to say about their upcoming fight.


"I was a bit disappointed that I would not be fighting Jayson Francis especially after he come off a big win. With that said, Charlie Leonardo is a big challenge. He is big, tough guy and at GCC 10, I am going to knock big, tough guy the fuck out." - Aleksandr Baranov


“I want to establish myself as a more rounded fighter, and start looking into fights with elite level guys, and Baranov is gonna be a good test to see where I’m at, and where I need to improve on, to get to where my goals are.” - Charlie Leonardo


Who will be pushed up the ladder, and who will have to start back at square one? You all know my opinion.


Rupika Khan (3-1) vs. Juanita Sanchez (4-2):

This next fight is awesome. In one corner you have the mixed martial artist Rupika Khan, and in the other corner you have the wrestler Juanita Sanchez. To win the fight Rupika Khan's strategy will have to be very clinch heavy, while avoiding the ground. However if Juanita Sanchez can avoid the clinch, and use her world-class take down abilities I think she will win this fight.


I believe Juanita Sanchez can avoid the clinch, but I do not think Rupika Khan can stop Juanita's takedowns and I feel she's no match for her on the ground, so with that being said I feel Juanita Sanchez will win this fight.


My pick for this fight is Juanita Sanchez.


I was able to speak with both women this week, and this is what they had to say:


"Rupika is very talented, and there is nowhere she's not comfortable being. I think this is going to be the toughest fight of my career, but I do see myself coming out the winner." -Juanita Sanchez



"I know that just like Anaquin, Juanita and her camp views me as a soft target. I am not an easy fight for anyone. I proved that against Misty and I am out to prove that yet again against Juanita Sanchez." -Rupika Khan


I don't know what you, the readers, think, but Rupika Khan never has seemed like a soft target, and anybody who sees her so would be foolish.


GCC FEATHERWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP

Misty DeMeans (3-0) vs. Jessica House (5-2):

What a title fight, if it indeed does take place. We have two amazing boxers squaring off with each other. For Misty DeMeans she's been relying on her power punching, and clinch work for the majority of her career, but we've never seen her in a true ground situation.


Jessica House is one of those strikers that can stand up to Misty DeMeans, but she has an ability to take Misty to the ground and control the fight from there.


This will be interesting since we've never seen Misty on the ground, but I feel that if Jessica House gets Misty into a ground grappling situation, she'll capture the featherweight championship.


My pick for this fight is Jessica House.


I spoke with Jessica House earlier this week, and attempted to speak with Misty DeMeans, who disguised her voice and had this to say…


"I am sorry, Misty DeMeans cannot be reached for comment at this time." - Misty DeMeans


Jessica House had a little bit more to say…


"It's going to be tough. I mean there's no doubt she is the best featherweight here right now because she is the champion, and I am the underdog, but you know what she has messed around and made me wonder if I could put food on my family table and for that she is going to pay a very hard price." - Jessica House


GCC LIGHTWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP

Rob Jones (4-2) vs. Vishis Vourture (3-0):

This is a battle between two of the best strikers at 155. I watched both men compete, and I've looked at both men's scouting reports, and they're literally identical. However Rob Jones does have an advantage over Vishis Vourture, and that is his experience. I believe experience will win out in this fight, and Rob Jones will retain the lightweight championship.


My pick for this fight is Rob Jones.


I caught up with Rob Jones and here's what he had to say about his upcoming fight…


"The man's a f(expletive)g joke. His whole team is a joke. When I beat this piece of garbage up, maybe they'll finally admit that we are the best team in the five boroughs." -Rob Jones


Here's what Vourture had to say...


''Rob Jones, I've heard a lot of people don't like you on the street. They wish you eat shit and die. It's nothing personal between you and I, but my phone is ringing and I gotta take this call.'' - Vishis Vourture


What a fight this is going to be.


Lastly I want to thank everybody for reading this week's Jocelyn's Picks - GCC 10 edition!


Follow Jocelyn Edwards on twitter @JocEdwards95


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page