top of page
Search

GFN18 Post-Show Interview with Gaia Galanos




The post-show of Global Fight Night 18 began with Gaia Galanos walking into camera view where she was handed a pair of headphones which she slid on. As she pulled the ears snugly over her very own, Gaia could hear Jocelyn welcome her.


Jocelyn Edwards:

Welcome, Gaia, and congratulations on an enormous victory tonight.


Gaia Galanos:

Thank you, it feels good to beat a quality fighter like Jessica.


Jocelyn Edwards:

In the beginning of the first round, she seemed to take advantage of you pushing her to the cage. Were you worried about your game plan at any point when she had you trapped in her clinch?


Gaia Galanos:

I made a few mistakes at the beginning of the fight that I wish I could have taken back. Big Mama made me pay for my mistakes though. She beat my ass pretty well up until about the halfway point of the round.


Jocelyn Edwards:

At which point you were able to complete your takedowns. Once the fight went to the ground as you had predicted, control was all yours. Step us through the ending of the fight.


A replay of the Main Event’s Armbar submission finish played as Galanos explained her actions in the fight.


Gaia Galanos:

Well, once I was able to get Jessica to the ground, I tried to stay active with the ground and pound. I had originally planned to go for arm chokes, but an arm presented itself and I was able to get the tap.


Jocelyn Edwards:

And with that, you find yourself once again #1 contender to the featherweight championship, a big feat on your journey as you seek redemption against Misty DeMeans. As you look forward to your fight against her, do you have any last comments you’d like to make about tonight or otherwise?


Gaia Galanos:

First and first-most, respect to Big Mama. That was one badass fight, and it should have been Fight of the Night. Jessica will undoubtedly rebound from this and continue to make moves in this division.


As for Misty, I bet she’s already tweeting about something having to do with the armbar. Whatever. If Misty actually decides to retire now, we know it’s that she’s nothing more than chicken shit, and she doesn’t want to face me for a second time.


For now, I’m going to enjoy this win and count the days until my next fight.


Jocelyn Edwards: Thank you for your time, Gaia.


Gaia Galanos:

No problem. Have a good night.


The #1 featherweight contender slid her headphones off and handed them away to one of the sound technicians and left the set.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page